Delegating Access to Email

Faculty can delegate access to their Google Mail to another person, so they can read, send and delete messages on their behalf. For example, faculty can delegate email rights to their assistants. The assistant can then also access the faculty member's contacts. Delegating access will not allow the assistant to change the account password or settings, or chat as the faculty.  Google users can specify up to 25 delegates.

This is the recommended process for giving others access to Google Mail. Faculty should never share their password. Access to U-M Google accounts uses UMICH.EDU Kerberos passwords; the same password used for most online University services such as Wolverine Access.

  1. Sign in at http://mail.google.com/a/umich.edu.
  2. Click the gear icon in the upper right, then select Settings.
  3. Select the Accounts tab.
  4. Under 'Grant access to your account,' click the Add another account link.
  5. Enter the uniqname@umich.edu email address of the person you'd like to delegate access to, and click Next Step.
  6. After the confirmation message, click Send email to grant access.
  7. The delegate will receive a verification email explaining that they've been granted access to the account.
    • After the delegate confirms this request, it may take up to 30 minutes for the verification process to be completed. To see if the delegate has confirmed access, look at the Accounts tab in Settings.

Any messages the delegate sends from the faculty account will have the faculty member's name listed in addition to the delegate's name, so they'll show the sender as: Faculty Member Name (sent by Delegate Name).

Delegates access the other account by clicking the down-arrow next to their uniqname@umich.edu email address in the upper-right corner, and choosing Switch account.

Removing delegated access

To remove a delegate's access, the faculty member should follow these instructions:

  1. Click the gear icon in the upper right, then select Settings.
  2. Click the Accounts and Import tab.
  3. In the "Grant access to your account" section, click delete next to the account to be removed.



Related Google Support Links