Before you begin configuring an Apple iPhone, iPod, or iPad to access a user's U-M Google Account, you must first Enable IMAP Access on the account. Once this is done, you should also identify the user as an Archiver or Deleter. This is important because how they choose to handle messages when they are marked for deletion (i.e. archive, move to Trash, or immediately expunge) will impact how they manage their mail across other IMAP client(s) they may use, and how the client(s) should be configured. We have provided the recommended settings for both Archivers and Deleters below.
Following these steps will configure an iPhone, iPod, or iPad to connect to a U-M Google Account using Google Sync. This will configure the device to automatically sync Google Mail, Calendar, and Contacts, as well as Archive messages that are marked for deletion:
By default, an button will be available when selecting a message in a list, in addition to the trash icon. Tapping either will archive a message, moving it to All Mail.
After completing the steps above to configure the device for an Archiver, follow these steps to change the Google Sync settings for Deleting messages:
The Archive button will now change to a button. Tapping this button or the trash icon will move messages to the Trash folder instead of archiving it to the All Mail folder. Messages will remain in Trash for 30 days before being permanently removed.
To empty the Trash and immediately expunge messages before the 30 days are up, follow these steps:
Even after configuring the device to Delete by default, the user can still Archive messages by using the file icon to move them to All Mail.
Related U-M Google Links
Related Google Support Links